Nordic

I’m very excited because after humming and hawwing and debating and discussing seemingly forever … today I actually laid down my credit card for a short (10 day) dad-and-kid (just the two of us) trip to the Nordics at the end of June. It’s going to be a whirlwind tour of four cities, one of which I already like a lot (London), two of which I’m very keen on seeing (Helsinki and Copenhagen), and one more that I’m happy enough to be going through (Stockholm). We might also go to Tallinn, as it’s an easy day trip from Helsinki (I think).

It’s an overnight ferry from Helsinki to Stockholm, and a 5-hour high speed train from there to Copenhagen. Other than that we’re flying, obviously. I booked all the transport today (THANK YOU INTERNET!) but have yet to sort out hotels and activities.

I seriously considered Saint Petersburg instead (it’s a very famous old city in Russia) but decided it was just a little too far out on the cost and risk curve, after discussing it a little with an agent in Helsinki. There is such as thing as a visa-free trip to Russia, but it is about $1,000 per person for only 3 days, and while I’m sure cheaper options exist, it just doesn’t seem worth it. Plus I’m really stoked to see Copenhagen.

Leave a Reply

