South Carolina

In South Carolina we spent a chunk of time at the beach, which was great. The ocean in SC in July is as warm as I have ever felt in Hawaii or the Caribbean, and there are tons of touristy activities that people like me lap up.

Ultra-cheap – really! – helicopter ride in Myrtle Beach. Ultra-short too, but you get what you pay for, and it was, like most things, about 25% of what it would have cost in Canada.

Hanging out in the Atlantic. While we were here one of the guys running the jet ski operation said, “hey, I just saw a shark swim past my feet!”. Later he came over to me and said “um, you might want to get your kids to move, there is a shark swimming around in here”. As there were people everywhere I really didn’t know how seriously to take this.

Myrtle Beach is a bit reminiscent of Waikiki. It’s great, but uncrowded is not one of its qualities. We went jet-skiing and banana boating.

I’m not sure if this is the name of a company or what it sells, but either way, I think they need to do some work on marketing.

I finally got to see Cirque de Soleil (in Myrtle Beach)! It was completely awesome. Supremely entertaining, including hilarious. Every single performer was Asian. Well worth the (not insignificant) money!

This place is some kind of local icon, a kitschy souvenir store that I gather has been there forever. Long before calling something “Gay” was a bad thing. Though it’s kind of come around to being a neutral, sometimes even good thing, these days. But that’s another story.

Leave a Reply

