Wild Rose Country

I think Alberta’s motto is kind of stupid; when I think of Alberta, I think of cowboy hats and oil rigs, not roses. BC’s is probably the best, though I’m not 100% sure if it’s Beautiful BC or The best place on earth. (Both are true, and the latter shows up a lot, but I’m not 100% sure it’s actually in new licence plates). I also like Quebec’s (Je Me Souviens) because it has a certain don’t-mess-with-me edge to it.

(Ok, here are the others that I remember: Friendly Manitoba, Yours to Discover (Ontario) (this is where I am tempted to say something like “discover what? car factories and nuclear waste?” but I think Ontario is actually a terrific province, under different life circumstances I’d live there in a heartbeat, so, I don’t want to diss it). The Maritimes’ should be The Second Best Place on Earth, partially because it truly is, and partially because John and Meaghan live there and if I don’t acknowledge the greatness of the Maritimes, Meaghan might not bring an entire snack store with her the next time we meet up with them. Didn’t I already say here someplace that if I were coming to Canada to holiday and could only go one place, it would be Nova Scotia? If I didn’t, I should have.

I’m having a hard time remembering Saskatchewan’s licence plate… something about big skies? No, that’s Montana. I think.

In any event, today we’re crossing over into our next and final province of the trip. I say this with a lot of sadness except that the 2 weeks remaining in Drumheller, Banff, Edmonton and Calgary promise to be super, super fun. It’ll go by fast!

One response to “Wild Rose Country

  1. and the worst-motto in the country award goes to New Brunswick for “Be … in this place.”
    And can you imagine, the province spent something like $250,000 to some consulting firm to come up with it.
    Nova Scotia – Canada’s Ocean Playground – rocks. wahoo.

Leave a Reply

