Background

By way of background (I’m trying to get myself in the habit of posting to this blog), we did the RV thing for the first time in the summer of 2006, in Arizona. That is probably the first time I had ever set foot in an RV. We liked it enough that we did it again last year, in the Maritimes. That was really successful, so here we are, making plans to do it for an entire summer.

Here’s the thing about RV’ing. It’s not cheap! You might think that you are saving money on motels… but no, and RV costs more to rent per day than most motels, and then you have to pay the campground fees, and gas. Gas is actually not as bad as I thought it might be. But it is still a $100 fill and you are filling up every other day, most of the time.

As for driving, Lenore refuses to drive so I am stuck with it but obviously I have made peace with this (for those who don’t know me, I am the #1 most car-hating and hating to drive person on the planet). It is not too difficult really as everyone tends to stay out of your way. I am chagrined to say though that BOTH of the last two trips I committed minor parking faux pases that resulted in my losing our security deposit in one case, and a trip to Home Depot for a screwdriver in another case.

Leave a Reply

